
Final Notice of Disciplinary Action (31-C)
For Law Enforcement and Fire Fighter Removals

Instructions for employer:  This notice must be served on a permanent employee in the career service after a Departmental hearing if one is requested.
This form should only be used for removal from employment of a Law Enforcement Officer or Fire Fighter as defined in N.J.S.A. 40A:14-200. If the
employee does not request or does not appear at the Departmental hearing, this notice must be served as the final action within 30 days of the removal
effective date. A copy of this notice must be sent to the Civil Service Commission and served on the employee by personal service or by certified or
registered mail.

Civil Service Commission – State of New Jersey

Sustained Charges: Incident(s) giving rise to the charge(s) and the date(s) on
which it/they occurred:

If checked, charges are continued on attached page. If checked, incidents are continued on attached page.

The following disciplinary action has been taken:

Removal, effective (date)

Signature         Title

Certified or Registered Mail   Receipt Number

Signature of Server           Date of personal service

Appointing authority or authorized agent’s signature and title.

This form must be personally served on the employee or sent by certified or registered mail.

On     you were served with a Preliminary Notice of Disciplinary Action (31A) and notified of the pending disciplinary action.
You requested a hearing which was held on              You did not request a hearing

You requested a hearing and did not appear at the designated time and place

APPEAL PROCEDURE TO THE EMPLOYEE: You have the right to appeal within 20 days from receipt of this form.  All appeals must include a copy of this form and
must be sent to BOTH the Civil Service Commission, P.O. Box 312, Trenton, N.J.   08625-0312 AND the Office of Administrative Law:  Attn: Direct Filing, 33
Washington, St., 7th fl., Newark, N.J.  07102.  Pursuant to P.L. 2010, c. 26, effective July 1, 2010 there is a $20 fee for removal appeals.  Please include the
required $20 fee with your appeal.  Payment must be made by check or money order only, payable to NJ CSC and sent to the CSC, P.O. Box 312, Trenton,
N.J. 08625-0312.  Do not send checks to the Office of Administrative Law.  Persons receiving public assistance pursuant to P.L. 1947, c.156 (C.44:8-107 et
seq.), P.L.1973, c. 256 (C.44:7-85 et seq.), or P.L.1997, c.38 (C.44:10-55 et seq.), and veterans as defined by N.J.S.A.11A:5-1 et seq. are exempt from this
appeal fee.   Any appeal postmarked after the 20 days statutory time limit will be denied.  We recommend sending your appeal by certified mail to prove your
filing in the event of lost or misdirected mail.  Do not give your appeal to your personnel office for forwarding to the Civil Service Commission.
For more information on the rules that govern Major Discipline and the appeals process, please visit our website at: www.state.nj.us/csc.
DPF-31C  Revised 03-24-11 DISTRIBUTION: Employee, Union Representative or Attorney, Management,  Civil Service Commission.

When using a form downloaded from the internet you still must provide the indicated above number of copies to all parties.

Attorney representing your agency should this matter be appealed
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Pension Number
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