
I. POLICY: 

            The County of Cumberland shall provide for the payment of workers’ compensation          
            under the provisions of the New Jersey Labor and Workers’ Compensation Act, R.S.         
            34:15-1 et seq. and N.J.S.A. 34:6A-25 et seq. Public Employer’s Occupational Safety and
            Health Act.  The County shall create a “Workers’ Compensation Insurance Fund” for the   
            payment of obligations.

 

II. DEFINITIONS:  

NONE

III. PROCEDURE:  

A.  Report of Injury/Illness: 
    
      Employees must immediately report a job-related injury/illness to the supervisor.         
      Department Heads shall insure that:

1.  The County Human Resources Office is immediately notified so that case                
     management can commence.  

2.  The injured employee fills out the “Employee’s Report” form (#WC.3) within 48    
     hours of the occurrence.

3.  The supervisor investigates the reported injury/illness and fills out the                      
    “Supervisor’s Report” (#WC.4).

4.  The “Employer’s First Report of Accidental Injury or Occupational Illness” is         
     completely filled out.

5.  The employee is given the instruction sheet, (#WC-1) containing list of panel          
     physicians and the employee signs the “Occupational Injury/Illness Notice”             
     (#WC-2) affirming the employee received same and understands the procedure.
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6.  Public employee fatalities or in-patient hospitalizations of three (3) or more             
     employees shall be reported orally and in writing, within (8) eight hours of              
     occurrence to the New Jersey Commissioner of Labor or his/her designee.

a.  In the event that the individual responsible for reporting is not sure as to             
     whether the incident is work-related or not, a report is to be made.

b.  Oral reports shall be made directly to the 24 hour hotline number,                       
     (800)624-1644.

c.  Written report shall mean the execution of the Employee’s First Report of          
     Accidental Injury or Occupational Disease.  The completed form shall be faxed
     to the Office of Public Employees’ Occupational Safety & Health.  Fax # (609)
     292-3749

d.  Failure to properly follow reporting procedures may subject the County to a       
     fine of $250.00/day and administrative penalties of up to $70,000.00 per            
     violation.

7.  All required forms are forwarded to the County Human Resources Office within     
     four working days of the injury or illness.

B.  Accident Review Committee:

All reports of occupational injury/illness shall be forwarded to the Accident Review
Committee via the County Human Resources Office.

1.  The Accident Review Committee shall:

a.  Review all reports of occupational injuries or illnesses.

b.  Make recommendations for the prevention of injuries/illnesses.

c.  Monitor the progress of employees on Workers’ Compensation.

2.  Department heads or their designee shall attend Accident Review Meeting when     
     required.
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3.  Departmental representatives must be familiar with all facts concerning the             
     injury/illness and investigation of same.

C.  Fraudulent Claims:

Department Heads who have information or suspect an employee misrepresented the
facts or the extent of an occupational injury/illness shall appear before the Accident
Review Committee and report same.  If appropriate, the committee shall order an
investigation into the matter.  Employees who report fraudulent claims may be
referred to the Cumberland County Prosecutor’s Office for prosecution.
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